It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

A Morning Walk

A habit that I've got into is to ensure that I have a few walks a day. Early morning is my favourite. It just sets me up to cope with what is to come.

The weather forecast was a good one, not much wind, maybe a bit of sun and no rain! Brilliant day to get a nice photo down Wardie Bay. It was still dawn when I left the house. Getting on to Lower Granton Road, I saw the tide was a mile out, almost to the pumping tower. There was a distant heron fishing in a rockpool but the shoreline was out of site.

Down on the beach there were a few swimmers....I'm often one of them, the water was still and the beach was quieter than usual. Not much wildlife about apart from the odd seagull. I plucked a frisbee and various bits of plastic off the beach and it looked as through there was some hospital waste there too which I left well alone. I hate when people disrespect the planet.....but what our wee beach community tells us is that there are plenty of people who care too.

I then walked along to the end of the harbour....the light was flat, with clouds covering the sunrise....this Blip is the only time I pressed my camera shutter....I don't think it'll be at any photography exhibition soon.

What else can I say about the day. Plenty of meetings at work. It's the time of year when I meet (online) lots of new students & am supervising 4th years. There's lots of other things going on too and it can be mentally fatiguing. 

That showed when I did my conditioning exercises & I just felt weak. Maybe my 'max effort' Zwift race yesterday had something to do with it. But I still managed to get out for a wee run too.....the legs were jelly! I bumped into Leszek who was out running too.... then nipped onto the beach again. Rosemary & Izzy where there swimming, and had just left the water when I arrived. It was just a quick hello and now I need to chill. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.