Loughnareena

This is Loughnareena, otherwise known as The Vanishing Lake. The rock nearest the surface is porous, the underlying rock is basalt which isn't. When there is a lot of rain the porous rock soaks up the water as usual, but there is more water than it can hold so a lake forms on the surface. As the water slowly seeps away the lake literally vanishes. When N. & I first met, we went for a day trip to the North Antrim coast, he's a County Down boy, so didn't know about Loughnareena and I took him to see it - but it had 'vanished ' I think he thought that I was pulling his leg!
We've had a fantastic few days away and as we drove home along the Coast Road we stopped to use the binoculars to see something we thought might be an oil rig, as we got out of the car, I couldn't believe it, we saw dolphins!!!!! At least 3, possibly 4, really quite close to the shore, but much too quick for me to get a photo. WOW! That really made my day!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.