Appreciation

By Appreciation

Another Day at Another Museum

We have popped down to Yorkshire to visit the in-laws. My boy has just returned from a weeks work placement with the Army. The bad weather meant he was brought home a day early.

I am full of mixed emotions about his interest in the Armed Forces. He said very little about it at home. Yet today whilst walking around the Leeds Armoury he was full of knowledge, knowledge I had been unaware of. Which gun was which, where you might deploy such a weapon, what combat gear was used for different situations. I can't decide if I was most shocked by his comment about being on a staggered patrol with his gun, or seeing him hunched down firing a rifle today.

I reckon I have been being a little niaive and perhaps showing slight ignorance of late. Time to lace up my boots and kick this corporal into touch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.