Health sciences grows bigger

On my cycle ride to work this morning, I crossed Grafton Bridge at just the right time for the light effects on the brutalist architecture of the Medical School buildings to be set off. especially with the steam emitted from the rooftop pipes. In the last couple of years there has been great expansion of the buildings across Park Road from the Auckland City Hospital as the School of Health Sciences has expanded.

The rather squat and unexciting building of the Auckland City Hospital seems to dominate this scent, and the eye needs to drift past to catch and enjoy the shadows and light.

Where I work is on the same site as the ACH, but almost as far away as it is possible to be. Which in way suits me as it is an unfriendly looking building. Mind you, where I work is dark, confusing and lacking any coherence. I'm told that it has another 25 years of useful life. I'd willingly collapse it while everyone is outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.