airedaleknitter

By airedaleknitter

You are my sunshine

Today would have been my dear friend Peggy Thomas' 97th birthday. I still think of her every day despite it being 10 years since she died. Peggy was our neighbour when we bought our first flat (maisonette in London, but that term doesn't really exist in west Yorkshire!). We became great friends despite the 47 year age gap! I was pregnant with A when Peggy's partner, Freddie died, and I think the tought of a baby next door is what kept her going initially. A and Peggy also became the best of friends despite the 74 year age gap, and Peggy sang this song to her most days from the day they first met, day 2 of A's life! A and I saw this recently and we both knew she had to have it hanging in her house.

Incidentally it is no co-incidence that our previous Airedale Terrier(ADT) was called Thomas. we found out about Peggy's death the day we secured one of the litter of puppies and as we couldn't call a male ADT Peggy, Thomas it had to be.

A may have been sunshine in Peggy's life but Peggy was, and still is, much loved by all three of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.