Paused Shielding - Day 77

14th century Vicars’ Close, Wells, Somerset

“Vicars’ Close was built over 650 years ago to house the Vicars Choral and it has since been continuously inhabited by their successors.  Vicars’ Close is unique; physically connected to Wells Cathedral and the most complete example of a medieval Close in the UK.” www.wellscathedral.org.uk

Took advantage of a lift this morning, over the Mendip hills and down into Wells, where I spent a lovely couple of hours in this beautiful little city, the smallest in England. With the area having one of the lowest Coronavirus rates in the country, and town being unusually quiet, I quite happily spent an hour pottering round the shops (tulip bulbs, Christmas cards and a couple of stocking pressies, birthday wrapping paper, sparklers, and an oven glove!). Social distancing, however, seemed bit of a foreign concept (complacency due to low number of cases?). 

My plan was to then go on to visit the cathedral, but after an hour of shopping I was pooped, and as the sun had appeared, I decided to just enjoy the views and the weather, and found myself a sunny bench for my picnic lunch on the Cathedral Green.

After all that excitement, yesterday evening I was zonked and didn’t have the energy to look through the dozens of photos I took, so am posting this backblip. In extras, two views through the 15th century Brown’s Gatehouse, one in each direction, and another view of Vicars’ Close, in all its full glory. You may yet get to see more pics of Wells!

Take care, stay safe and well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.