Ted And TED

This is Ted. He lives next door to the oldest wooden church in the world. His master says he is a good guard dog but he doesn't come across as such. Ted is short for Edward and the meaning of that name is prosperous guardian. In my Kennel Of Dogs book it says that Frederick the Great ordered Field-Marshal Keith, who was a Scotsman, to supply him with collies for sentry work.

Ted's name got me thinking of TED talks. I first heard of these from my granddaughter's GP when I accompanied her to the surgery a few years ago for a consultation about her acne. In the course of conversation she told the lovely, female, inspirational doctor about her interest in STEM subjects and her ambition to go into dentistry. The GP suggested listening to TED talks. I've just watched The Dog Song. :)    

My daughter and I had business in Ongar and called in to Greensted church for a quick dogwalk on the way home. She spotted a Honda S2000 outside a converted barn and S2KUK carded it. We had spicy carrot soup socially distanced outside a pub in North Weald. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.