Flying High!

Had a fabulous day at the Atherstone Hunter Trials and just had to buy this photo as, ignoring the blob on his back (there was no way I was looking down at this fence as it was a BIG drop) I thought that Buddy looks absolutely stunning on it. 

I was way out of my comfort zone today as not jumped a course as big as this in terms of height or length ever! I barely slept last night and felt sick this morning! But once we were there the adrenaline kicked in and we had an absolutely fantastic round. I had a few sticky moments - Buddy clocked there was a big ditch in front of one of the fences and practically came to a standstill, then with a bit of encouragement hurled himself over it. My leg must have swung back and my whole strirrup leather came off! I was holding the stirrup on with my foot, trying to put it back on!! 

Then there was one fence I was really worried about after the walk round as it was third to last when I knew he would be flagging. It was a big step up with two strides to a skinny - on the way home so very inviting for him just to duck round. I lost my stirrup again on the jump up but we managed to get over the skinny with only one stirrup. (Got to stop my lower leg swinging back!). 

I've been absolutely buzzing all day after it. So proud of Buddy and how far he has come from spooking and stopping at everything a few months ago. He was so brave today and really looked after me. Just love him to bits. 

When I got back to the yard Jack's stable was a bit of a mess. He's normally very tidy and he seemed a bit edgy. I honestly think I passed on my anxiety to him this morning. He's such a sensitive soul. Eva came back to the yard with me late afternoon and we took him out for a little hack which he really enjoyed. Its getting so dark so early now. We were moving fences and poo picking in the dark! 

Extras of today 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.