Sunday Afternoon Drive, Bald Eagle State Park

It was a Sunday in mid-October, so my husband and I went for a fall foliage drive. This is a central Pennsylvania tradition where you just get in the car and drive around, looking at things. Trees, pretty leaves, pumpkins. Whatever October has to offer!

We ended up at Bald Eagle State Park, heading to the area near the old dock, where we like to sit in our chairs and relax and read our books. As soon as I saw the foliage on this road, I had to hop out of the car (we had my Arctic blue 2017 Chevy Sonic) for a few shots.

My husband said, Hey, I'll just take the car and go park it, and you can walk down, taking pictures. Then I was standing there, waiting for him and the car to clear out of my shot, when I decided I might just like it better with the car IN the shot. If you look close, you can see a leaf falling to the right of the car. Isn't autumn just glorious?

I have another photo to include (see the extras), and that is of the huge praying mantis that my husband found languishing on its back in my yard cart in the morning, waving its legs around. I relocated the rather large bug to the new butterfly garden, where it rallied, and eventually took off!

My soundtrack song is for the shot above. There are many versions of this song out there but this one, for me, is simply the best: Cyndi Lauper, with I Drove All Night. Girl's got some PIPES! OK, I can't resist; here's a second (live) version.

P.S. Two things we saw at the park on this day that we never saw there before:
*a bear crossing the road not far from the main park office, and
*two ladies dressed up in bright red ladybug costumes, strolling down the road!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.