The Collector

By Collector

Edwardian 'Glamour' - World War 1 looming

I am surprised to have become a collector of, amongst other things, post cards.

Here's what happened. I love art deco and collect art deco Christmas greetings cards. (Another blip at the appropriate time of year) One of my favourite ebay sellers also had various 'Artist Signed' postcards.
Some are romantic portraits of very pretty young ladies from an earlier era, in elegant clothes and hats from 1900 - 1914 - ish, termed 'Glamour Ladies - Artist Signed', because the artists became very popular at the time, with their names always prominent on the painting.

I have a few...can't help it... not just because they are collectible and pretty. The ones I love the most have been written and posted. I struggled a bit over the feeling I was intruding into private correspondence; the people are all gone, yet their chatty or heartfelt messages are being read by a stranger - me. And yet books, diaries and letters from the past are part of how we learn and understand history. With the greatest respect, here are the simple messages from 2 of these cards. Nothing dramatic, but bright and chatty...one just months before the outbreak of the first World War..

Card: 'The Pearl Girl' with a rose on her hat.
14.2.14
written.. "To one of St Valentine's Sweet Girls".
I thought I would like to send you a Valentine, until you have a real Valentine of your own! With fond love & wishing you a 'rosy' life
I am your loving Auntie Lulu

Card: bottom left.
France Mar 4 1918
My Dearest Lily, Just thought I would mail you a card to let you know our old pal Jim is beating it for 'Blighty' today, so what do you know about that!
He has promised to go down and visit you, so I guess you had better open that N.Z. Soldiers Club right away, what do you say. Pleased to say everything is going along well here. Cheerio & Good Luck.
Fond Love, Billy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.