Stopping the Action

We went up to visit the hummingbirds again. If you stand quietly by a particular cluster of grevillea, they appear and disappear on some timetable of their own. One minute there is an easy dozen vibrating within your vision, then suddenly they are all gone. Back again, parting your hair as they come in. They seem to have worked out the territory and don't appear to be squabbling. This time I tried the recommended camera settings, and frankly I think I’ve done better over the years with just pure luck. I took almost 500 photos, partially because of multiple exposures, and immediately cut that by half as soon as I got home. More cuts, and I ended up with only a handful that I wanted to work with. It’s true I was able to freeze wing action a bit more consistently, but my focusing was off and there was way too much noise with that high ISO. Luckily I can keep going back until I learn something. 


The fog was in thick this morning, couldn't see up to the corner. Seasons are changing at last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.