BJH

By BJH

The return of the Great Crested Grebes

Not far from where I live there's an artificial island lying in the river. It's the largest of several islands that the town council decided to put at different locations in Gent several years ago so that wild plants could grow on them which would then provide resting places for wildlife. I ride my bicycle past this largest island on my way to the sanctuary and the last two days I'd seen a swan there but I couldn't stop for any photos as I was already running late then.

This afternoon I managed to leave the house a good 10 minutes earlier so I could stop at the island this time but the swan wasn't there. However, I did spot a pair of Great Crested Grebes instead. To be perfectly honest, I cannot say with certainty that these are the same birds who have returned but a pair has been nesting on this artificial island for the last 5 years so it may well be them again. These two photos of a Grebe with its chicks from the 13th and the 15th August were taken at this island. I hope I can eventually locate the exact spot if they decided to nest there again this year.

I only had to cough a few times during the day but it's become worse again this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.