MikeUSA2020

By MikeUSA2020

Be Prepared

Growing up I was always blessed to have great role models that helped guide me to look at not just today but to always look forward... My Dad was one of my best role models along with others. One in particular was a friend of my Dads (Steve) Steve had given me his Eagle Scout ring when I was quite young and not yet in the Boy Scouts. I still remember what he told me... Steve gave me an expectation that I would also achieve this goal. I did achieved that goal and others through life and have always felt blessed because of these role models. It was just four days ago I had just looked at this ring and reflected on what Steve's expectations had been and wondered if he and his wife Linda were still in town. Tonight I had just learned that they were both around and one son had just passed the other day from cancer.... Both of Steve and Linda's sons had also become Eagle Scouts. I had felt honored when he gave me this ring but now feel the need to give it back to Steve to give to his son Greg and hope he inspires others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.