Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Cleaning the potato harvester

I walked up past the doctors and the potato harvester was about to start up. It was being cleaned out before beginning its work. It is an impressive piece of machinery. In the morning I went into the shop to deliver a couple of clocks but did not stay long. I picked the rest of the chard and made some more soup for the freezer. In the afternoon I went to help at the food bank. Someone else is running it now but I still want to help out when I can. There are fewer clients than there were but the numbers are sadly expected to rise soon. I watched the news conferences after the breakdown of talks between Greater Manchester and the government and I was quite upset that no agreement could be found. This has been badly handled and the government seems to have refused an agreement when there was only a £5 million difference between the sides which is small beer when dealing with a city of this size. Now it seems that the money available for Manchester will be reduced from the figure offered in negotiations and this sounds very much like a political act of punishment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.