wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Cheery

There's nothing like stabbing a couple of cheerful multicoloured buttons through your ear to make a day seem wonderful. I love these earrings, they add a little bit of colour every time I find myself in too many basic blacks. So thanks Von, they rock!

I can't remember if I've blipped them before or not... Well, no harm!

I spent this morning practising my best happy human signpost face at uni, pointing people in the right direction for an open day. Today was (I'll admit) duller than usual - there were a lot of us on duty, and once the rush dies down there's not as much to do. But we're all employed for our friendliness, so it's usually easy to pass the time chatting to the other ambassadors around while keeping a keen eye out for lost parents and prospective students. Conversations during the lulls follow a pattern along the lines of

"So I was watching ______ last night, have you seen it? Did you see the bit where Oh hello, can I help? Yep, just go straight down the path and over the road, and there will be someone waiting there for you. Not a problem! Yes, Australia. Umm, my masters in history. Oh yeah, I really love it here, it's a great uni! No worries, bye! Oh it was just so funny! But earlier today I was on the bus and I saw someone who looked just like Hi there!...."

It can be chilly work, although today spring has been in the air - I've hung my first load of washing outside for the first time in a couple of months, the chill is less than last week, the birds are very happy, and there's that new growing things smell everywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.