Timguru

By timguru

Spoonbill Otipua Wetlands, Timaru

Went looking for this bird today, it was my specific task. Since "Rainie " had bliped it earlier in the month I went out looking.
I started out photographing the Swans and Canadian Geese and little waders, but I couldn't see the spoonbill anywhere. I'd pretty much given up and was resigned to the fact the bird had gone to other places maybe because of how very dry the wetlands are at the moment.
As I crossed the little footbridge on my way back to the car, I spotted it in the creek. So after a bit of creeping up and getting a good possie, I waited for it to come to me rather me trying to get to it and scaring it away.The tatic paid off although the spoonbill was a little suspicious of me and was undecided and kept walking in circles. Managed thirty good shots before spooked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.