Barm_none

By Lysle_Photo

Convergence

Yesterday I stumbled upon a post on face book showing this magnificent public art instalment in Calgary. Despite the snow fall I immediately drove up to the northwest of Calgary to see it. Oh my! It’s amazing. It’s probably 40 feet high and made of piping.

“Set high on a natural grass knoll above Calgary, the twin sculptures evoke images of native bison, elk, wolves, horns, nests, bird murmuration, prairie vegetation, Chinook clouds and mythical creatures. As one moves toward, through and around the artwork, the pair separate, convene and commingle creating a variety of compositions in a metaphorical convergence of the diverse Calgary community.”

Laura Haddad & Tom Drugan (artists)

I’m going back! There are amazing walking and hiking trails all over that knoll and the sideways sleeting snow at -8 made my visit shorter than I wanted it to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.