Disappearing Act

As most of you know, I really love to cook, and one of my go-to places for culinary inspiration online has been the Fine Cooking Magazine website.  I've used it for years, and have many favourite recipes saved there.  Imagine my surprise, however, when I checked in the other day to be summarily shunted over to the Food & Wine page without so much as a by your leave!  It would seem that Fine Cooking decided to close shop without a word of warning to any of its subscribers, and now all those saved favourites are lost and gone forever.

This is one of my go-to chutneys which thankfully I printed out before everything disappeared.  It is awesome with pork or chicken!

Apple-Ginger Chutney

3 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and cut into 1/2" dice
1 medium yellow onion, thinly sliced
1/3 cup raisins
3 Tbs minced fresh ginger
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup cider vinegar
3 Tbs unsalted butter
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

In a large saucepan, combine the apples, onion, raisins, ginger, brown sugar, vinegar, 3 Tbs of the butter, the cayenne, and 1/2 tsp salt.  Bring to a boil over high heat.  Reduce the heat to maintain a lively simmer and cook until the solids are very tender and the liquid has reduced to a juicy, syrupy glaze, 20 to 25 minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.