a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Queuing Finches

I decided to give the bird feeder a really good pre-winter clean today.  All of the feeders were given a proper refurbishment before being restocked.  I thought we might get some visitors so I left the camera in the kitchen ready to take a shot through the kitchen window at the appropriate time.

After a couple of hours it seemed that the birds didn't like the look of this new clean well stocked establishment so I decided to give it up as a bad job and to replace the failed low voltage light in the kitchen ceiling, putting the camera in the next room.  

The job requires enlarging the existing circular hole in the ceiling for which you need one of these.  The process makes a fair amount of dust.  To keep it off myself I put on a peaked cap, glasse,  earmuffs and my Dad's old CEGB white lab coat.

Inevitably, just as the new hole was finished, the little blighters arrived on the feeders.  We had blue, coal, long tailed and great tits, visiting along with these goldfinches. I grabbed the camera from the next room and took a few shots - looking at me in that get up Cathy was bitterly regretting that she had already blipped.  

Apparently I looked really quite special dressed as I was, wielding the big lens.  I think she means that I looked devilishly attractive in a Mad Professor sort of way - definitely the Mad Professor bit was mentioned.  Fortunately she wasn't quick enough with her phone and you have all been spared this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.