A nice drive out

Nipped to Carterton today to take something to Julia and bring back a filing cabinet which she didn't want to send to Cyprus.
Roof up on the way there, it stopped raining  shortly after I left home but I kept the roof up because of the spray, particularly from lorries passing in the other carriageway.
The filing cabinet turned out to be larger than I imagined, should have taken the Hyundai but it's quite amazing what you can carry in a two seater sports car (MX-5).
I dismantled the cabinet, Julia put one drawer in the boot, parts went on the passenger seat with the other drawer on top but the large sides had to stand upright between the door and the passenger seat, a squash but it stopped them rattling so worked out ok.
Roof down to fit it all in and the sunshine came out to dry the roads and I set off with the roof down.
Lovely drive through the Oxfordshire and Gloucestershire countryside between Carterton, Burford and Gloucester. Until I got stuck behind this large lorry carrying an equally large 'digger'. Didn't mind though, just enjoyed the drive. Was behind him for about 8 miles until I got to the bottom of Crickley Hill, after passing the Air Balloon Pub on the A417/A436 roundabout junction.
This was taken in stationery traffic by the way, I wouldn't normally use a phone or camera (this was with the Lumix camera) when in the car but when we stopped it struck me I didn't have a blip for today. Should have take a photograph of the MX-5 loaded up!
Some extras showing what an MX-5 can carry 
Boxes
Ladders
MDF Boards
Bikes and more :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.