Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Bags of room

I recently bought this camera bag. The reason was that on a recent holiday I had been putting my DSLR in a small backpack to take it with me when we went on walks, when most of the time I was not actively not actively taking photos. I would half-heartedly wrap it in a microfibre towel inside the backpack.

This arrangement seemed OK. Then, while we were sat at an outside table having a beer, the backpack toppled out of the chair next no me and fell a couple of feet to the ground. I think it hit a metal chair strut on the way down and half a millimetre of backpack nylon wasn't enough to prevent the camera picking up its first dent.

Fortunately no apparent damage apart from that, but it was a warning to be a bit more careful about how I carry my camera equipment around.

There are plenty of dedicated camera backpacks out there having a myriad of compartments, but I really just wanted something to give the camera some protection while it shares a backpack with sandwiches wet weather gear etc. etc. Nothing fancy.

After much searching I came across this camera shoulder bag. Not having lots of protruding pockets on the outside it looked like it might slip into a smallish backpack. Being top opening I could easily access the camera without taking the bag out.

Anyway it arrived, it fits my 20L Decathlon 'economy' backpack perfectly (extra) and the quality is good. This photo was of an experiment to see what could comfortably fit in the bag, before posting a review.

It swallowed my DSLR with a smallish 35mm lens attached, plus two fairly chunky zoom lenses with hoods attached, a mobile phone, a bag with lens cloth, brush etc., a shutter release remote control and a card reader adapter. The blankety blank cheque book and pen would have slipped in the outside sleeve pockets (showing my age).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.