Pogonip Open Space

They say Pogonip is a native american word for river fog. The fog was definitely in this morning as we headed out on one of the nine trails that crisscross this popular urban retreat. About a mile down the dusty path we came across this labyrinth, carefully constructed with stones from the nearby limestone cliffs.  The arrangement is very particular, with larger darker rocks at the edge, graduating to smaller and lighter approaching the center. Am I the only person who’s been made dizzy by walking a labyrinth? it was not a pleasant experience. I stuck it out because I was hopeful and curious and puzzled, but it only got marginally better circling to the left on the way out. Maybe it’s because I was watching my feet so carefully on the narrow track, but I was disappointed. That’s the trouble with expectations. 

Being out in the woods and walking through the meadows that overlook the city was a fine way to start the day. The weather is definitely turning. Yesterday it was 47 degrees when we got up—oatmeal weather for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.