Thursday

The lovely sunny weather forecast for today was wrong! Rain. 

It eased off but it was grey and damp and it didnt seem worth getting the car out so we had a local walk. Luckily there is enough trees and grass verges to make it pleasant enough although we have done this walk so many times we could do it with our eyes shut. We could do it in the opposite direction but as it's very hilly we'd be going uphill more than down.

Back home and I wrapped a parcel for my friend's birthday. I met her at college 50 years ago. It's good that weve kept in contact even though we havent often had the chance to meet up. I then sat and wrote her a  letter to put in with the card.
Like most of my friends from ' way back when' she "doesnt do Facebook" I'm not sure why they're opposed to it, or even to using Messenger to have a chat, which is private and convenient and immediate .
I'm happy to write a letter but it is like a one sided conversation with a long gap before theres a reply. But we do manage the odd phone call.

I took Fletch with me to the post office. The girl running it is amazing. She's had to run it singlehandedly since March but always remains cheerful and friendly. It's well stocked with cards and gifts and basics and it's usually  very busy. It's also dog friendly! 

Coming out I saw the cherry tree which now has Autumn colour so that is my blip. I took a few but I like this with the bright green old Citroen passing.

Fletch was keen to take me to the park for a walk but it seemed quite dark as the rain clouds were building up. We did manage quite a long walk and got back before the rain.

Lights on and curtains closed by 6:30 is quite depressing. Even more depressing is realising that the clocks go back on Saturday.  But as the sun is lower during the day we now get direct sunshine shining through the windows in the afternoon.. a  bonus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.