Who is the Snowman?

Well all the pages in my book for my granddaughter have been displayed. Interestingly my Blip for today is the most important page from the book and it happens to be my 600th Blip and the physical book ( shown in my second extra ) arrived yesterday.
I would like to attribute this to my brilliant planning but you should know by now that this is a Snowman’s joke. The characters will be for my granddaughter to find on Xmas Day.

The book this year was inspired by the 12 Snowman statues that had been installed around More London in 2019. As soon as I saw them I just knew they could be used in a story. I also have to highlight the influence of Raymond Briggs “The Snowman”. Go find David Bowie’s into to The Snowman for the 1982 TV programme on You Tube. It lasts just over 1 min but it is magical.

The Briggs story is all in pictures and has a sad ending. I created stories for my children as we looked at the book when they were young. But there could not be a sad ending to this story as this has been such a sad year. I could not let the Snowman melt so this Blip took a lot of time in thinking about the effect. It’s not the last page because it does convey the message that the Snowman cannot be with Freya for Xmas this year. So the last page is in a different style and sets her off on her annual treasure hunt. To have fun.

The book endeavours to keep a focus on the magic of a special family time of the year. No masks and no mention of COVID but at the same time events have given us a difficult year which are alluded to. The media are likely to continue their gloom and doom but let’s try and plan for and make this an even more magical event this year.

Well enough of this sentimentality. Thanks for all your interest in my Blips. I also have enjoyed looking at your images and reading your narratives. Stay safe and have a good weekend. In 3 hours time I will get to meet up with another of my Grandchildren.

PS . For those of you scratching your heads and saying this is all too early it’s only 62 days to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.