Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Happy Friday

About a month ago I came home to see awful boyfriend from the flat downstairs moving out.
Hurrah!
Since then I have been waiting to bump into herself, but I have not. Her lights go on and off and her car moves but she is completely silent. I'm not going to poke anything at all.

Today I had to leave work early to let an electrician in and it occurred to me that I could not make head nor tail of the local library website; could I enter and browse real bookshelves now or not?
So when the electrician had finished his twiddling I went off to the library to find out for myself the current state of play. The good news is that yes, I can enter, browse real bookshelves and walk out with a real book, which I have done.
But the best bit was on my way to the library;

I was stopped for the traditional illegal hug by my lovely tattooist friend who was keen to play to me a voicemail message he had received on Thursday night. It was the awful boyfriend, previously from the flat downstairs, begging to be rescued from his new place in Brighton. In the background a woman is screaming blue murder at him. 
Utterly fabulous to hear him being intimidated out of his new home.

These happy fuchsias were laughing with me when I reached the open library door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.