Serendipity

As I was aiming my camera at the sunset clouds, I suddenly realized that the moon was visible as well.  It was only when I looked at the image on the screen that I realized that Mount Rainier was also in the frame, far away underneath the clouds.  I had hoped to make the photo sharper, but this was the best I could do.

We had some excitement here last night, when the fire alarm went off at 12:30.  The alarm in this building is deafening and includes a strobe and a light.  Usually what I do when this happens is to shut myself in the bathroom, which is the quietest spot in the apartment.  But as I headed there I realized that I was smelling smoke!  Clearly there actually was a fire somewhere in the building.  My neighbors were milling about in the hallway but had no information.  I opened all the windows in my apartment to let out the smoke and the alarm stopped after about 20 minutes.  The smoke smell lingered for a long time.  It will be interesting to find out what happened on Monday.  

It was a sunny but very cold day today - tonight lows will dip into the 30's.  I've felt chilly all day, but I'm  hoping to get the apartment warm enough  for a shower later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.