Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Lehrmeister Joseph Ort will cry at seing this

Everything I know about forestry/wood, I learnt from Joseph (aka Sepp; aka Bobby) Ort from our previous home in Grosskitzighofen. Sepp took me under his wing back in the winter of 1995/6, kitted me out with all the safety gear & took me in to his forest to cut down trees for selling to sawmills, carpenters and firewood. Sepp was very strict about safety and working economical. He always had a plan of what we had to do so that we had the least work possible i.e. take the wood in your hands as little as possible. It's a lesson I always try to remember but seldom succeed.
So here is the latest episode in my firewood story. Loaded the logs on to the tractor to move them to the house and then had to pick them up again & stack them against the house wall. Sepp would have done the whole thing differently (although it has to be said he has all the professional equipment) but at the minimum he would have loaded the logs directly on to the tractor as he split them.
Must take this opportunity to thank Sepp & his wife Heidi who always had a wonderful warm lunch prepared for us when we came home - lunch was always eaten in underwear! (long johns of course). There are 100's of tales I could tell about the Ort Family (children Kathrin, Dani & Dominik) & how thankful we are for all their help over the years - thanks guys!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.