Rusty fingers

I have had the piano of my parents in my home for a while now and didn't touch it until today.

As a child I've had piano lessons for about 10 years. Back then I didn't like it very much, it always felt so obligated. I went to a music school twice a week where nothing but classical music was teached. As a child/adolescent that isn't exactly the music that fits.
I remember back then I had a notebook with me with Garfield on it, saying: "I hate mondays". Guess on what day I had my lessons.... My teacher thought it was a joke, I knew better....


Now many years have passed by, and I never touched the keys again.
Until now. The piano has been here for a few months now, and today I sat  down on the stool behind it for the first time. It felt like a trhowback in time. Same stool, same keys, same lamp above it even! Weird.

I actually liked it. I searched for some sheet music on google (and found lots, classical too....) and really had some fun playing. Reading the notes had to come from far and my fingers feel very rusty, but I feel, when I will do this more often, all the basics will return and I will be able to play a bit again.

Of course I downloaded an Andre Rieu - related piece.... I's such a great feeling when you recognise music that is played by yourself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.