TINY TUESDAY - PINKTOBER 27

I went out into the garden to take a few shots of some of the pink flowers still blooming and found quite a few, but quickly came back indoors when it started raining - it was very windy and cold so I didn’t want to stay out there for too long.  

When I got back indoors, I saw this shrivelled flower on an Agapanthus stem and it just appealed to me.  When the Agapanthus had finished flowering a few weeks ago, I rather liked the structure of the seedheads so cut off some of the stems and put them into a vase so that I could enjoy them, which is where they have stayed for several weeks.  

However, there was one flowerhead that hadn’t completely dropped its petals so this is what I have used today.  Of course, there has been a little fartnarkling and as it is such a windy and wet day, there wasn’t much else to do, so I enjoyed that and this is the result.  I can even see some pareidolia now it’s up on my computer screen - and I think it looks like a snake’s head with a long pink tongue.  I know that my dear Blip friend, LSquare, will see it, but I wonder who else will?

I have just looked at the theme for today’s Tiny Tuesday challenge and find it is “Something ending with an R” so I think I might just scrape in with the rather tenuous link of PinktobeR 27!

Mr. HCB and I have just spent the morning putting up 1,000 LED lights in our conservatory to make it look pretty and to keep our spirits up as we approach winter - we decided on the multi-coloured ones and it does look very good - although obviously it will look  much better when it’s dark.  Team HCB has done a good job together!

Thinking about keeping up our spirits in these difficult and challenging times, I wonder how many of you have seen Paul Harvey on Youtube and on Breakfast TV recently.  Paul’s career was as a music teacher but now, at 80 years old, he is now living with dementia, although according to his son, Nick, he comes “alive”  when he is playing the piano.  

A few weeks ago, Nick gave Paul four notes and he improvised a tune using those notes, which went viral on Youtube.  The BBC picked up on this and members of the BBC Symphony Orchestra has now recorded an arrangement, all in isolation, which you can hear on this clip from BBC Breakfast earlier this week when “Four Notes - Paul’s Tune” was aired live for the first time.  It will be released this coming weekend with profits going to dementia charities.  It was so heart-warming to watch Paul and Nick and I hope that it raises lots of money - I will certainly be buying it.

Please remember to click on this link so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram may have a free one.  Thank you.  

“Music is the divine way 
     to tell beautiful, 
          poetic things to the heart.” 
Pablo Casals

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.