Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

I can see you....

Survived the night at the dodgy lodge!!  Left early to visit Mazabuka ECD centre and meet some of the church leaders to discuss how they do things there!  Had a good visit - planned a few other meetings for the near future.  I found the kids sitting on benches doing rote learning - the teacher had obviously prepared a programme to show me thinking I would be impressed!  She has had no training and I know she was trying her best, so I encouraged her to try and do the same material a different way!!
 As I always do, I carried a bag of rubbish for each centre that I am visiting (I have friends who collect their rubbish for me!).  The kids had so much fun playing with the cartons and containers!  I am not sure that the teachers were convinced that children learn this way though, so I have a lot of work to do!  Both teachers are new and I look forward to working with them as we have a workshop in December!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.