Fishing near Dunstanburgh Castle

We had arranged to meet #2 daughter and the boys at Craster car park at 1pm so that we could walk to Dunstanburgh Castle. The car park was full with a queue. I’d never known it full even in summer. But in Covid times there are far more visitors and far more people going out for walks as it is the only way be are allowed to meet friends.

We drove further north to Embleton and parked in the village which meant a bit of a walk to the beach which at high tide was busy.

Poor James had a rotten cough and cold so we kept well clear of them. He was so out of sorts he didn’t was a biscuit and kept sitting down in the sand to play rather sadly. Normally he’d be charging ahead. We didn’t make it to the castle as the dune path was so busy, but I did show Thomas the Whin Sill where it buckled into the sea 195 million years ago. (I googled it to impress him! And he was suitably awed). Much much before even dinosaurs.

These chaps were fishing as we were at high tide.

We did only 3.5 miles it it felt further, walking on soft sand.

The letter from the eye hospital said if I hadn’t heard from them by today I should contact them regarding my referral. They tell me I’ll get seen around the beginning of March -unless Covid holds things up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.