A New Day

By ANewDay

I Declare! It's Arbroath Abbey

Such a beautiful day today after all the dull weather we've had! I was up with the lark (well 8 o'clock on a Sunday is early for me!) to travel to Carnoustie where I met up with two old school friends for a walk to Arbroath along the newly refurbished section of the Coastal Path. The sea was like a mill pond, the beaches all but deserted for most of the way and just a gentle breeze to cool us down from our exertions. Perfect walking weather!

We had our fish and chip lunch sitting at Arbroath Harbour watching the boats, then headed for Arbroath Abbey, which I hadn't visited before. I was surprised how much of the building was still intact and the Visitors' Centre was well laid out and very informative.

The Abbey is most famous for the Declaration of Arbroath (see here for more information), which is even more meaningful now that Scotland is considering its freedom once again. It's thought that the American Declaration of Independence was loosely based on this document.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.