Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Test

A hectic day, but I managed to escape across the road to the peace and quiet of the graveyard for a few minutes when the sun was shining.

After delivering some training online I had sundry committee papers to present across two further online meetings, while in between times I was trying to finish edits on another paper that had an end of day deadline.  I'm normally able to spread these sorts of things out through my week but events conspired to give me a very full on day.

In the middle of this I had a knock on the door. "Hello, we're from the Council. Would you like to have a Covid-19 test today?" I couldn't think of any reason why it wouldn't be sensible to co-operate with community testing, even if I weren't aware that such testing was happening. So I was handed a home test kit there and then, given instructions as to how to take my own swabs from throat and nose while they waited and returned my sample to them. I will have the result texted to me within five days. This was a viral test, not the antibody test that I was sampled for a few weeks ago.

After all that I thought I would unwind a bit at some mid-week football, so I took the bus a few miles further into town for another visit to Campion AFC, who were hosting Hull-based Hall Road Rangers in an NCEL Division One fixture. As I described elsewhere, the conditions by then were filthy - heavy rain pulsing in every fifteen minutes or so. I managed to get a socially distanced seat under cover, but of course the players don't have that luxury.  It looked like the conditions would get in the way of any good football, but after a goalless first half, things opened up. A scoreline of 5-1 flattered the home team but it was more than sufficient to lift them to the top of the table.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.