misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Young Red Oak

We are coming to the end of the colorful trees now in 2020. This young red oak is becoming a fine young tree in my back garden.
The NY Tree Conservation people gave me two a couple years ago. Oxford is an Official Tree City USA so we have an annual spring celebration when the tree people come to give out young trees. (Not this year, of course). 
My garden soil is totally booked with trees. If I live long enough here in this space, I will get to feel that I am living in the mixed wooded forest I envisioned when I bought the property. It was almost entirely lawn.
Planting such an oak is quite a commitment to the future. Eventually I think it grows to 35 or 40 feet. I will not get to see that.
And, of course, after I have died or sold and moved away all of the garden is at the mercy of the new owner. 
I remember blipper Zimm54 who sold his property and beautiful house in Wisconsin to move to California. Last year when my backyard neighbour was cutting down all of her huge pine trees causing me to weep, he understood and said that had he known the new owners were going to cut down an immense number of old oaks, he would not have sold to them.
We can only control so much, I guess.

Snow tonight-- first of Autumn 2020.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.