Fungi

Looking at my collection of books on Fungi you might think that I have at least a modest amount of knowledge in this complicated field of study.
I assure you it is very modest indeed. It is perhaps more the case that I have a compulsion for buying Natural History books.

I suppose I can recognise some of the most common specimens. Fly agaric, Shaggy Inkcap, Velvet Shank, Honey fungus and perhaps a dozen others.

But beyond that it can be difficult. Really you need to bring unusual ones home. Then you can look at spore colours and shapes under a microscope (which I have but am too lazy to use) or you can cut some open and watch the flesh change colour.

If you want to take it seriously you need to join The British Mycological Society and go out on field trips with people who really know what they are looking at.

A bit too late in life to do that and have too many other interests. But walking in the countryside, especially at this time of year, can be a very interesting fungal experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.