Must do better

I have only attempted to make fresh pasta once before and that was not good. Heavy and dense and far too thick.
 
Today I was determined to make tagliatelle with seafood.
 
I researched the pasta making in great detail, finding online the official recipe of Bologna as published the Chamber of Commerce.
 
I quote 
"the width that the authentic tagliatella should have: 8mm (0.314 inch) when cooked, or the 12,270th part of the height of the Asinelli Tower, a Bologna landmark. How do you get to that measurement? It has to be between 6 ½ and 7 mm (0.255-0.275 inch) when you cut the dough in strips depending on how hard the dough has turned out."



Why the division of that famous tower into 12, 270 parts is beyond me.


So armed with  a tape measure, set square, compass and vernier calipers, I set about making the tagliatelle.
 
I regret that wielding a rolling pin with hands not in their first flush of youth was a difficult task and the result was always going to be pasta that once again was too thick, too heavy and too dense.
 
The sea food and accompanying sauce was good; a little garlic, oil and wine, but the overall dish was not a success.
 

I consoled myself with having, with my post prandial coffee, not one but two slices of thickly buttered banana bread that I made yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.