Reality check

The phone has worked hard to make this photo more palatable.  Whilst I love my walks on most days.. I really really don't like walking in the rain.. particularly when it is blowing directly into my face on a brisk breeze.  That was todays reality!! This photo looks bright (believe me).. but we are heading home into a rainstorm.. the rain falling from the cloud beyond the bright bit!! Pelting is another word I would use to explain what you cannot see.  At one point my leader (otherwise known as Flossie) heard me exclaim as the wind whisked my rainhood off my head simultaneously unwrapping my scarf and throwing it over my shoulder.  She politely stopped and waited as I got myself sorted out again then trotted home, ears shaking or bent backwards through the gusts.  
In other news.. so many deliveries blocking us in today as the new roof materials pour into the site next door.  The HUGE oak timbers to replace the ridge beams for both old bits of the cottage arrived and we watched in amusement as three men tried to move it.  One man is as high as he is wide (nicknamed Bellyfirst as he is very flatfooted and wore no shirt for much of the summer.. pretty much all we could see was his belly) and well over 65 (probably), another is built like tarzan (thankfully he wore more than a loin cloth when he removed his shirt this summer) and one average sized young lad.  Tarzan screwed a tiny wheel to the middle of the beam and then the idea (I think) was to trolley the beam along the footpath before hefting it round a right angle bend into the property garden.  They hadn't taken in to account that the ground was not level.. so infact the wheel was mid air as one end then the other was heaved to flatter ground.. it was a circus.. I wanted to video it but I think it would only have been good as an educational video on Polish swear words!!
and now... kedgeree for supper.. and more knitting (must get it done soon... more projects to come)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.