A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Jeepers Creepers

Meet the Brown Creeper, a year-round resident of Maine, who creeps up tree trunks, not down, looking for insects. They fly from tree to tree starting at the bottom, and utilize their camouflage coloring to defend against predators by spreading flat on a tree without moving. In winter they eat nuts and seeds • Unfortunately, I have met some “creepers” in my lifetime but this is the first Brown Creeper I’ve seen. He blended so well with the bark of the cherry tree I almost missed him. I also saw my first dark-eyed Junco of the season. They live in Maine year-round too but we never see them until late fall or winter • Speaking of winter, we did not receive any snow as forecasted! Happy faces all around! • The weekend is loading...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.