Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Just the One

At lunchtime I popped over to the local hospital for a blood test, noticing this information sign and tree as I walked in.  It was the only photograph I took all day.

It is now almost 17 months since my last check up, which should be every 6 months.  I’m not complaining, the world has changed and so have priorities for the NHS.  There is concern that men are not being identified with prostate cancer because of the difficulties in accessing G.P. services. Thankfully I was diagnosed a few years ago and have received treatment before the cancer took too much hold.  There is now a campaign to get men to take a 30 second checker being run by Prostate Cancer UK, to help with early identification of potential issues.

 I will get a telephone consultation in a week or so with one of the nurses to tell me the result of my PSA test, which is used to make sure I’m still clear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.