Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Freeman Reservoir

This morning was laundry morning and then we drove to the town of Craig to pick up a few things.  We decided to drive up to Freeman Reservoir which is a county park.   Of course the lake was frozen and the aspens were bare.  Snow covered the picnic tables.     It was still a pretty view and so very quiet as no one else was there but us.

Later in the day we went back to the hunting area and we saw some elk moving in our direction.   So Jerry decides to move the truck down the road and walk up to where he thought the elk may be when they approached to cross the road.     Well, he made a mistake (and I did not say I told you so!) by parking the truck next to the road instead of inside the fence next to a house where we have permission to park.  So he went walking while I waited.  Yep...the elk came right past the truck and I got a perfect view of them.  However, the sun was shining on the truck window and my photos were not great.   I was told not to get out of the truck...next time I will be breaking the rules!    I almost made eye contact with one of the female elk.  I know she saw me looking at her.   

So guess what we will be doing tomorrow.    The good thing is the weather is nicer...mornings are still cold but it warms up fast in the sunshine and today I did not even where a coat,  only a sweatshirt hoodie.   The snow has mostly melted and the mud is drying up fast.  So maybe tomorrow we will get a long walk in search of an elk.  

Thanks for all the comments, stars and hearts.   I see them and do appreciate all of them!    Have a good weekend, Blippers!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.