Garden centre

I have been participating on the panel for some second interviews for a new position in our team. I think recruitment of colleagues is one of the most important processes to engage in so I consider it an honour to have been asked. I’m quite exhausted at the moment so have made these interviews one of the main focuses of the week. We’ve got excellent candidates and I’d be excited to work with any of them. It’s difficult to choose but I suppose this is a positive dilemma to have.

After some ‘popping head round door’ moments I had to instruct the parents not to come in whilst I was on calls to announce trips to the garden centre or to make enquiries about whether I’m in for tea. It wouldn’t be fair to broadcast a trip to the tip whilst an interviewee is providing an example of a stressful situation they have neutralised in their career to date.

The weather continued to be diabolical. In the end I wasn’t in for me tea as in the evening I ventured over to Nicola and Tom’s a few miles away where Nic dished up a lasagne and I looked at Lego in the toy catalogue with their three boys. As Nic doesn’t work and because they have some fields to play in, for them the period since coronavirus took hold has been enjoyable and coupled with more family time. I was happy to hear this as such stories help to offset the negative impact it’s had on others. The country is very much in need of positivity at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.