Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

being teased by spring

The day today grew into a positively balmy afternoon- the first waft of spring in an otherwise dreich and heavy February.

It's almost the time of year to prematurely don some shorts and slowly trot down the beach, my lanky, peely-wally legs blinding the innocent passers-by as I bid them good day. But I stride adamantly in the face of naysayers. As soon as the mercury creeps up even by 0.1 °C I thrust off my jacket and walk around town confidently as if I, more so than the rest of the general public, am exceptionally seasonally aware.

On a slightly more serious note: the warmth does bring some relief to my perma-frosted winter existence- in a flat where shampoo freezes, olive oil splits and seeing your breath has become nothing more than a confirmation that you haven't frozen to death yet.

I'll embrace spring gladly and the unveiling of my translucent limbs is a protest at winter's intrusive grip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.