Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

A dozen

of us went out around Cliffe Marshes and got utterly and hilariously drenched.

I used to enjoy watching cargo ships sailing past my house, back in the days when I also used to keep sheep; so field after field of sheep with London Gateway providing a backdrop was oddly nostalgic, despite the fact that here the terrain is as level as a games table whereas my previous home was anything but.
And of course I was in the best company, yet again. This time with quite the largest posse ever out walking together. Sadly it now looks as though it will be the last assembly for quite a while. The last time I was with this many friends we weren't out walking, and that meant that the less ambulant members of the group were able to join us in a garden

I have an evening out booked for Wednesday with G & J and then it looks as though everything planned for Thursday or beyond will have to be deferred.

I had spent all of Friday updating and expanding my interactive map of UK, showing all restriction levels district-by-district with all of our properties superimposed on top. I'd had to add a new sheet for Scotland with its five different shades of thistle-mauve for their 5-tier system, and then add new hyperlinks to all of the sheets.
I'd also decided that I might as well add yet another shade to indicate the Welsh temporary “circuit-break” full-lockdown.

And then at lunchtime on Friday gov.uk had updated it's Covid alert level page and I had to go through it all again.

Reading through all the different definitions I was so impressed by Nicola Sturgeon – she has a gossamer tier zero called “Nearly normal”, which is paler than a standard sticking plaster and is obviously never going to happen – not even in the Shetlands, and she also has an inevitable deep purple tier 4 called “Lockdown”, which Boris has never included in his “3-tier system” which is obviously about to be chucked in a ditch.

However, I was requested not to remove the two facilities our new owners re-sold on Thursday because that is a secret.

I'm really hoping that I will be permitted to publish this very new and very pretty document on Monday before it becomes irrelevant on Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.