Boomerang

By Boomerang

Storm Aiden

What a day! We woke up to very strong winds tossing and blowing the trees; no ferries this morning. The wind increased to over 60mph during the morning, the strongest we have had in our wee corner or Mull for quite a while. Some time before midday, the power went off but happily it came on after about 15 minutes so we breathed a sigh of relief and had lunch.
Despite the wind and rain, I decided to go to the village shop as I needed a few bits and pieces. As I crossed the causeway over the River Bellart, I noticed that there was quite a high tide and the river was not far off the level of the road so I knew that I needed to make my trip a quick one.
Just as my shopping was going through the checkout the power went off again but came on within a few minutes so I just had to wait until the till rebooted and I headed home pronto. Unfortunately, our power at home was still off as we are on a different circuit to village.
We waited and we waited, but no electricity seemed to be coming our way. The wood burning stove kept us cosy but as the afternoon drew on, it became increasingly difficult to read. Thinking that it might be a good idea to phone the electricity supplier to find out what was happening, we unearthed the old-fashioned plug-in and dial phone which is kept for such emergencies and found out that they hoped to have the problem sorted by 5.30pm.
Just after six, we were getting a bit hungry and the candles weren't really burning bright enough to read by, so I phoned again. Obviously the problem was not an easy one to fix but they hoped to have power restored by 7.00pm. My stomach couldn't wait that long to start preparing tea so I decided to take the ingredients out to the camper van which has lights and a gas oven and hob. Just as everything was just about ready to eat, I saw the kitchen lights come on. Perfect timing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.