The queue for Hobbycraft

I needed thread and elastic for some trousers I'm making, and W needed some DIY supplies.  So I dropped him at the DIY shop, and drove on into Norwich.  As I was driving, W texted to tell me there was a long queue to get into B&Q.  I found Norwich busy - I had expected that, with lots of traffic, a small queue to get into the car park, and then quite a long queue to get into Hobbycraft.  I haven't done a great deal of shopping (except for groceries) since March, and this was the first time I've had to queue to get into a large shop (I've obviously queued to get into the little local farm shops, where they can only cope with a few people at a time).  Interestingly, there are a number of other shops in the small shopping centre - Poundland, Matalan, H&M and various others - but no queues for any of the others.  Obviously, everyone is stocking up with stuff to keep them busy during the lockdown!  Everyone was very good natured and well behaved in the queue - and at least it wasn't raining.  Hobbycraft were policing the numbers inside the shop - they had a board at the entrance saying that only 44 were allowed in at a time - and were counting folks in and out.

Anyway, the queue moved quite quickly, and I got what I needed.  And there was no queue at the till.  W on the other hand found he had a VERY long queue to pay for his DIY stuff.

I suppose it'll be back to buying online if I find I need any further needlework supplies before December.  At least Garden Centres are being allowed to stay open - though unless the weather takes a turn for the better, we won't feel like spending much time out there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.