Back in the day

Brunch with A, T and (briefly) K...nice to chat and laugh (as well as considering what the next couple of months will bring and what sort of Christmas we'll have) before I hit the road and headed north.
Listened to our book group book 'Shuggie Bain' again all the way home - although I doubt I'll have finished it by tomorrow night. Really assured writing and feels very authentic in terms of dialogue and in capturing the burn of poverty. Surprising though that it's about the 1980s....seems almost like the Glasgow depicted by Joan Eardley in the 1940s.
Once I arrived home - in pelting rain - I unpacked and leafed through this cookery book of my mother's that P had given me as he's clearing his house a bit. My goodness those 1950's housewives churned out a lot of food every day! Can't imagine eating so much... I didn't get on well with her but we did share a love of cooking and it made me smile to see all the recipes from magazines cut out and kept between the pages of this book, just as I do, although unfortunately no scribbled notes across any recipes. It's been quite a nostalgic week all round - and I came home with the pyrex bowl from B&V's house in Barton that V always made sponge puddings in as I'm looking forward to making some in the same dish too in future, as well as one of her decorative cake plates. 
Early night to bed with laptop preparing for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.