Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Mimi's umbrellas

I've decided to change today's main photo to something a bit cheerier than the earlier one - it was a day that needed to be brightened up. Here are the umbrellas on the ceiling at Mimi's in the City Art Centre where T and I treated ourselves to tea and cupcakes after seeing an enjoyable exhibition entitled "Bright Shadows: Scottish Art in the 1920s".
 
I’ve got the earlier photo now as an extra as I would like to remind myself about it in the future. It’s of padlocks, presumably love locks, at the top of the News Steps which go from St Giles Street to Market Street. I don't remember seeing the padlocks before. They are not the kind of steps I would ever go up, only down - there are quite a lot of steps like that in central Edinburgh. I was on route from home to the gallery and it made me realise how unfit I am.

PS  re the padlocks: I searched Blip for The News Steps and found CanCarrier's blip of the top of the steps from 17th April 2011 where there are no padlocks - and Edinburgh was frantically busy. Be careful what you wish for...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.