Paladian

By Paladian

Full regalia

Taken by the Rower - I didn't touch a camera all day.

However - it was just about the best day of my entire life (as George and Harry would say).  I was locking up after a working bee a couple of days ago, and two ladies came in asking to look around.  I sadly declined because I was ker-nack-er-ed.  I would normally happily do that, but I just couldn't face it.

They introduced themselves and we chatted a bit, before they mentioned they were members of the Victoriana Society.  Of course, our working bee was to get ready for the opening ceremony today, and they offered to come in their full regalia, and wander around.  It was a lovely touch.  The costumes are authentic, and made by the members themselves.  It made me want to get out my sewing machine, I can tell you.

And we had the Year 4 String ensemble from St. John's Junior School playing on the Terrace.

And - we got three or four people who want to join as volunteers, either in the garden or as tour guides.

Nothing went wrong, not even the tiniest little thing.  Nicolle Flint our Federal MP cut the ribbon (and the scissors were sharp), everyone thanked everyone else.  The Rower (as the new President) gave a lovely little speech.

Then we had a lunch break before opening to the public in the afternoon.  We had about 70 people come through the gate, including a delightful chap who came all the way from New South Wales.

All-in-all, a very successful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.