The Bowes Museum

I have hoped to visit the Bowes Museum for many months and at last made its to Barned Castle. On a bright autumn day I enjoyed the drive through wind rain sunshine and several rainbows.
The museum was purpose built by John and Josephine Bowes and opened in1892. As well as galleries with paintings from sevententeenth and eighteenth and nineteenth centuries there was a display of the work of Norman Cornish a local miner who painted the activities of life in his mining community. He stopped working as a miner in 1966 and became a full time artist. The famous silver swan was still, the notice said it was out of action due to social distancing measures.
Knowing this would be my last outing for a few weeks I had a tasty lunch in the cafe. The camera on my phone is still not working even after lots of work by my son. Not wanting to miss any more blips I dug out my old camera and an iPad while I do some research on a suitable phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.