Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

Bike Ride to Work

Took this about 8.20am this morning, on my way to work. Had already got a signature for a letter I'm working on. Stopped on prom cause I was on time - snapped this. In the end I didn't take many more shots.

I'm glad I took this one and share it today in memory and honour of the 36 year old woman cyclist, as yet unnamed, who died in Portobello today in an incident with a lorry driver at a bad junction (one I avoid by taking the prom route) around 3pm this afternoon.

I am so sorry to hear this. I can name too many dead cyclists, yet still cycle. In particular I cycle because in the traffic chaos that ensued with the road being closed for several hours, my journey home was the same, smooth and beautiful and cherished. We have to get out of cars. The more cyclists there are, the safer we all are.

I loved that on my morning commute I bumped into Loretta and her husband, after yesterday's event and then around Inverleith met a former colleague (from last century) out jogging. That doesn't happen in the car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.